Search This Blog

Friday, March 25, 2011

Electorate reminded of their power to recall Assembly Members

     Ho, Mar 15, (Dzokoto/Mensah) GNA-Togbe Adjatekpor VII, Paramount Chief of the Avatime Traditional Area has reminded the electorate that the statutes establishing the district assemblies allowed them to recall non-performing Assembly Members.
     He was speaking at the inauguration of the 81-member Ho Municipal Assembly in Ho on Tuesday.
Togbe Adjatekpor said he was yet to hear of such recalls, slamming political groupings for manipulating such moves in favour of the failing Assembly Members.
     He observed that often Assembly Members were preoccupied with prefixing their names with “honourable” without reflecting that title in deeds.
     Togbe Adjatekpor expressed joy at the number of chiefs appointed to the Assembly but cautioned them against assuming “political colorations”.
     “Say it as it is if something is going wrong and never be influenced by political sentiments,” he stated.
     Togbe Adjatekpor observed that the number of women in the Assembly, a total of 19, nine appointed and 10 elected was a disappointment.
     Rev Dan Markin, Chairman of the Railway Development Authority who read the President’s message said it was the dedication of Assembly Members that determines the level of credibility of the Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs).
     He cautioned members against using their positions to   secure contracts or undue favours because that would be “serious offence of conflict of interest”.
     Mr Isaac Kodobisah, Ho Municpal Chief Executive (MCE) who focused on development projects undertaken in the past few years hinted that 20 kliometers of Ho Township roads would be tackled this year.
     He said the Assembly was in the process of awarding contracts for a three-storey shopping center at the Civic Centre, which is centre of town.
     Mr Augustine Akusa-am, the Ho Municipal Magistrate administered the oaths of membership, office, secrecy and allegiance to the Assembly members 54 of whom, are elected, 24 appointed and the remaining three being the Members of Parliament within the municipality and the MCE.
15 Mar 11  

No comments:

Post a Comment